What do I do after receiving a citation (ticket)?
An individual, or his or her attorney, must handle the citation either in person or by mail on or before the assigned court date on the citation.
What must I bring with me to Court?
An individual must present a valid photo identification issued by a government agency when appearing at the Municipal Court.
- If an individual is planning on requesting a driver’s safety course, they must present a valid Texas driver’s license, valid financial responsibility and the fee.
- If an individual is planning to request deferral of final disposition they must have a valid identification and the fee.
- If an individual is presenting proof for dismissal of a failure to maintain financial responsibility citation they must have government issued identification and an insurance card or policy as required by law.
- If an individual is presenting proof for dismissal of expired driver's license, expired registration or expired inspection, they must have a photo identification issued by a governmental agency, proof the defect was remedied within 10 days of the date of the citation, and the administrative fee.
- Be prepared to pay fine and costs that day.
What if I just want to pay my citation in full?
Can I pay my citation online?
Yes. Please visit our Payment Information page for information about making an online payment.
What do I need to do if I want to take Defensive Driving?
How do I find a Driver's Safety Class?
The Court does not endorse driver's safety courses. It is the individual's responsibility to find and select a course. There is no list available through the court. An individual may wish to check a telephone directory, search online, or check a local video store.
Am I qualified to be granted Deferral of Final Disposition for dismissal of my citation?
What do I do if I want to plead “not guilty”?
An individual, or his or her attorney, must appear before the Municipal Court Judge on the scheduled court date. The individual will be set for a second hearing called a “pre-trial.” At the pre-trial hearing, the individual will be able to meet with the Assistant City Attorney and make arrangements for a trial by judge or trial by jury if he or she wishes for further proceedings.
What forms of payment do you accept?
Individuals may pay fines and court costs/fees at the Court Clerk's window with cash, personal check, cashier's check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, Discover or Diners Club card.
- If paying by mail, the Court accepts personal checks, cashier's check or money orders (DO NOT MAIL CASH).
- If making a payment via the online payment system, the Court accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or Diners Club card.
- Cases currently in any type of warrant status can not be paid with personal, temporary, third party or company checks.
If I'm a minor what do I need to do?
Juveniles and minors must appear in court on the date assigned on the citation or summons. Visit our Citations page for more information.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Farmers Branch Court Clerk's office in person or by telephone:
- Farmers Branch Municipal Court
- 3723 Valley View Lane
- Farmers Branch, Texas 75244
Failure to appear or pay the citation by the court date assigned will cause the incurring of additional fines, fees and costs. The individual may be charged with a separate offense of Failure to Appear, which carries a maximum penalty of $500. A warrant will be issued for the individual’s arrest and may result in the loss of driving and vehicle registration privileges.